Learning Lessons

That old comp I mentioned a post or so back had me completely stumped all day! The NIC wasn’t working, and reinstalling the drivers caused the damn thing to crash. It would load if I disabled the drivers in safe mode.

After wrestling with new drivers and futzing around with every other possibility, I finally did the thing I should have done in the first place. The thing I’d have told anyone who had the same problem to do. I removed the card and put it in a new slot. TaDah!

It’s a wonder I remember to breathe some days.

2 Responses

  1. I can remember spending years going through this stuff. It’s how I learned PC’s and most of my basic knowledge about computers. I don’t miss this one little bit. It may also be why I am now bald.

  2. I wouldn’t bother, except that my attempts to run a live CD of linux were failing (tried Ubuntu, Xubuntu, and Knoppix).

    Now that I’ve got the NIC working I’m going to try again.

Leave a Reply

