Blog Action Day

Turns out today is Blog Action Day, and no one told me! Well I’ve wiped away the tears, successfully stuffed down the memories of High School and joined up.

But I’m a piker when it comes to environmentally friendly actions. I recycle plastics and glass.

That’s about it. Here’s a good post at the Blog Action Day blog about way to make a difference:

2. Use a rag or hand towel instead of napkins or paper towels.

I can do that. I’m guilty of using way to many paper towels than needed.

6. Turn off the lights.

Recently I’ve been working on that, too. But we can do better.

8. Use CFC light bulbs.

Oh! We use CFCs! Now I feel better about myself

14. Turn down your water heater.

I did that recently as well. Maybe I’m not as bad as I thought.

21. Avoid fast food.

We’ve been doing that for about 2 years. Ever since we saw Super Size Me.

There a bunch more easy steps on that page that you, and I, can take. What are you doing to help?

2 Responses

  1. We do the CFC’s. I had a go-crazy day and replaced every bulb in the house in one fell swoop.

    I’ve also banned paper napkins and paper towels from the house. We’ve stopped using ziploc baggies and instead use containers. We stopped buying those boxes of drinks for lucas and got him his own re-usable bottle.

    I’m happy to say our recycle bin fills a lot quicker than our trash bin does.

    I also try really hard to shut things off and unplug things that don’t need to be run often.

    It’s little, be we try.

  2. That’s a good idea on the juice boxes. I think I’ll do the same.

Leave a Reply

