Alias

I started watching the first season Alias a week ago. I got it because I need to supplement my viewing material during workouts. Tivo can only work so hard and I’ve increased my time on the bike to an hour at least.

I’d been hearing about this show since it debuted.  A lot of people whose opinions I respect, and who like the same sort of stuff I like, had been raving about it. That was a while ago, the show has been off the air for over a year. It lasted 5 seasons, a pretty good run for a show that was never a major part of pop culture. I saw the first season at Borders recently at a steep discount, so I picked it up.

I am so smart! What a great show. I’ve watched about 6 episodes and the time flies when it’s on. The basic story is that she’s a spy, recruited in college by SD6, what she thinks is a branch of the CIA but is in fact a sort of NGO of spying. They kill her fiance, she becomes a double agent, finds out dad is a double agent too, and then tries to bring down the organization from within. All while discovering the truth about her past. The usual.

The success of the show with me hinges entirely on Jennifer Garner. First, she’s utterly gorgeous to look at. A true beauty in every way. Second, a pretty damn good actress. She’s convincing, even when the action is pretty unbelievable, she pulls it off with real emotion. Third, what a looker! And forth, she’s a grade A action hero. If this show is anything to go by, she could easily become the newest action hero of our time. And lastly, man what a babe!

There’s a remake of The Bionic Woman new this season, and I’ve been watching it. It’s not bad, but I don’t think it’s doing great in the ratings, and can see why. There’s just no hook. It does a few things well, but not great. What I realize is that this incarnation of The Bionic Woman is trying desperately to be the new Alias, and failing. In large part because of the actresses involved. Both shows are working the spy angle and the hot chick angle and the mysterious past, but one works and one doesn’t.

I have a coupon for Borders for tomorrow and Tuesday only. I’m gonna get the rest of the seasons of Alias.

2 Responses

  1. I had high hopes for Bionic Woman, and it let me down in every way. The first 3 episodes were lame. The actress is ok, but the writing is where that show just dies. Too bad.

  2. I didn’t think it was terrible. But it was disappointing.

Leave a Reply

