Dangerous Kids

There’s a video of a talk by Gever Tulley posted at TED titled “5 Dangerous Things You Should Let Your Kids Do” and it’s pretty good.

The list includes: play with fire, own a pocket knife, throw a spear, deconstruct appliances, break the DMCA, drive a car.

It’s a good list, and he makes great points about them all. I’m sad to say that Rowen has done few of these. I’ve let her “throw a spear” for values of spear that include other potentially dangerous throwable items. I think “spear” should probably be very loosely interpreted for that item. But her closest brush with fire is throwing balled up paper into a fireplace. To my knowledge she has never even lit a match. I know for sure she doesn’t have and has never used a pocket knife or anything resembling one. We’ve never taken apart any appliances together. She does break the DMCA, and when I taught her how to rip her CDs for listening on her mp3 player, I took that opportunity to give a low pressure talk about rights and responsibilities. And she hasn’t ever driven a car, but I do think I’m going to let her have a go at that soon. I used to do that with my Dad at her age.

That talk has a lot of resonance with a couple of books out recently. The Dangerous Book for Boys and The Daring Book for Girls. I got the latter for Rowen a month ago. We haven’t had a chance to do any of the really good stuff in it yet, but Rowen likes it and digs reading about the various women included.

If you have kids under 16, you should check out the video and those books.

2 Responses

  1. You know, we got The Dangerous Book for Boys (from my Dad) and have not even touched it. I am going to make sure we break it out this weekend.

    TED is amazing.

  2. It’s a good book. I didn’t spend too much time on the boys version. The girl’s version has lots of stuff besides just activities. There are short bios and stories as well.

Leave a Reply

