Thinking Like A Designer

That is not something I do. It’s a talent and skill set that I envy in others, the ability to see things not as they are, but as they might be. But I do enjoy good design.

And I think I’m going to overhaul the site again.

When I set it up, I was really puzzled by the three column themes. It was evident to me that you needed a column for posts, and a column for everything else. Duh. Now I know that I was wrong. I need three columns. Posts, stuff, and blogroll. Obviously! So that’s what I’m going to do.

But it also made me wonder, is it better to change the design on a blog often or rarely. Anecdotal evidence suggests that the answer is “Ummmmm… both?” I wonder if anyone has put serious thought and research into the subject. But for my purposes, I like changing the look, so I’m going with often.

So, how do you like it?

(EDIT) On reflection I’m begining to think that I need to move this blog to a hosted site using WordPress rather than the free solution from wordpress.com. I’m trying to do what I thought was very simple, a blogroll with sections broken out. But it’s more difficult than it should be, and only in anphabetical order. I don’t like that.

2 Responses

  1. I’m very unhappy with this theme. I want column of posts followed by two smaller columns to the right. grrrrr

  2. Ping me on IM and I’ll get you setup. No money down, no monthly payments. :) You can run WP, TextPattern, whatever you want.

Leave a Reply

