Calling 911

Today, for the first time in my life, I called 911.

Me and Rowen were on our way to dinner (Baja Fresh) when we saw a very small brush fire in a bank parking lot.  SO I pulled in to take a look. In truth, it looked like it would have burned itself out in a short while. it was isolated and there was no additional fuel nearby. But, despite the other cars nearby, one of which had likely already called the fire dept., I called 911. They thanked me, and let me know that fire dept was already dispatched. The arrived even as I hung up.

We drove on, and being the annoying dad I decided this was a learning opportunity for Rowen. So I asked her what she thought about me calling 911. She said she thought other people had already done so. And I told her that, yeah, they did. That led to talking about doing the right thing, even if you think it’s needless. Or redundant, or time consuming. She got it, and didn’t seem to mind my little detour into learning-land.

I’m still surprised that I’ve never before had need to call 911. And even in this case it wasn’t really an emergency.

4 Responses

  1. I’ve only called 000 once, and that was a couple of years ago when my mother collapsed at night and told me too.

    I’m sure it’s always better to have too many calls than having everyone assume someone else did.

  2. Yeah, that’s part of what I wanted to get across to her. That even if you are absolutely sure others have called, you still have to call, because you have to do the right thing not the easy thing.

  3. Wow, the title of this scared me something good.
    I think years ago, when I worked at Coleman, we were taught CPR. They said that when you find someone down, hurt, to point out someone nearby and tell them to call 911. It’s supposed to work better than yelling, “Someone call 911!!”, because most people will think someone else will do it.

    Good lesson, and good job Mr. Good Samaritan. :)

  4. I got recertified for CPR a year ago. That’s been standard for a while. If you pick a person, they can’t just think “Well, someone will call.” Plus it shocks people into action. Lots of people *would* call, even if they thought others were, but they are just mesmerized by the scene.

Leave a Reply

