• Stuff

  • My Twitter Stream

  • February 2008
    M T W T F S S
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    2526272829  
  • Instagram

    No Instagram images were found.

That Twiting Thing

UPDATE: I failed to include the location of my twitter stream: http://twitter.com/tmclarke

I signed up for twitter yesterday.

I don’t know. Maybe it’s just not for me. I realized a long time ago that asynchronous communication is not what I’m best at. Usenet, email, and message boards have long been places where I failed to interact well. IRC and IM seemed to be natural for me.

Twitter is odd in that it is mostly synchronous, replies tend to come fairly soon after you tweet. But there’s a very strong element of performance, or exhibitionism. Most tweets don’t really demand a response, they are announcements of a sort. That makes me want to perform. When I signed up at first all I wanted to post were very lame attempts at bon mots. I had to force myself out of that. But that left me with your basic self-revelatory entries: I’m off to take a shower, I think I’ll spoil myself and have a cookie, what’s this growth in my armpit?

And I suppose that’s really kind of the point of twitter. I just am not sure if it’s something I want to do. I was really hoping for a more conversational effect. Maybe that’s something you can only attain with enough followers. I’ll keep at it for a while ,see how things go.